Home > getting started > Hello, world!

Hello, world!

Well, now that I’ve finally graduated and don’t have papers and a dissertation to write, I’m ready to start actually writing more for the general public.  I tend to have opinions on giftedness, learning disabilities, education, psychology, and the interface between all of those.  I have particular expertise in cognitive, academic, and psychological assessment, the psychological and social effects of high intelligence, theories of intelligence and personality, and the real world of various educational strategies.  I believe that most questions are far more complex and nuanced than most people give them credit for, and that it’s important to think in a rigorous way about the ramifications of various ideas.  So I tend to be in the mode of Blaise Pascal’s famous quote (often attributed to Mark Twain), “I wrote you a long letter, because I didn’t have time to write you a short letter.”

Some readers might be new to the whole giftedness thing, and might be overwhelmed.  I get a lot of phone calls and emails that amount to, “Help!  How do I get started?”  I’ll try to tag things in terms of whether something is a general-interest post (or even a GT 101 FAQ), or whether I think it’s mostly going to be of interest to the folks who are as geeky as I am.

I love to hear suggestions from people about specific topics or questions they’d like me to address, so feel free to comment here or to send me a private email (aimee@davincilearning.org).  I also like suggestions on how I can more effectively use this or other online forums — despite having been on the net for over 25 years (!), I tend not to be a particularly rapid adopter of the new and shiny.

Categories: getting started Tags:
  1. August 3, 2010 at 12:44 am

    Good Luck with the blog. As you well know sometimes we write things because we have to write things not because someone has to read it. Enjoy!

  2. Sally_L
    August 3, 2010 at 1:33 am

    Aimee,
    Through the years I have always enjoyed your posts to the various lists we both have been a member. I look so forward to your blog. Now I have a location – Your Blog – to find your newest posts. Woo Hoo!
    Your friend,
    Sally_L

  3. Lisa Conrad
    August 3, 2010 at 1:47 am

    I look forward to reading your blog with great interest. You’ve already touched on many areas I find fascinating! Have you introduced this blog on Twitter? I’m sure everyone at #gtchat would like to read this. 🙂

    • August 3, 2010 at 3:41 am

      I must admit to being totally overwhelmed by Twitter, so I haven’t done anything with it. If you’d like to let people know about it, that would be great.

  4. danielle_Y
    August 3, 2010 at 1:47 am

    Aimee, I am looking forward to reading your blog. Congratulations on the next phase!

  5. August 3, 2010 at 2:00 am

    Hi, Aimee, it’s great to see you here. I can think of a lot of popular misconceptions about IQ testing that would be good to discuss here.

    • August 3, 2010 at 3:42 am

      Yes, Karl, that’s a good idea. (if you’ve got specific ones you think I should include, say so here or in PM)

  6. LizPf
    August 3, 2010 at 3:35 am

    Welcome to the blog-o-sphere, Aimee!

    I know you have tons to write about … I even kept some of your older TAG posts is you need inspiration. You wrote a great response on Christmas music when Ocelot was 6 …

    The trick to blogging is to write something every day, even a very short link to a useful site or book review.

  7. August 3, 2010 at 3:44 am

    Liz, every day? me? I don’t think I’m going to be able to do that (grin). I was thinking more like once a week, maybe twice. I have a very long list of ideas, the problem is writing things up quickly and getting my “real” work done too.

  8. August 3, 2010 at 4:13 am

    Welcome! I’ve always enjoyed your posts on the TAGFAM and TAGPDQ lists, so I’ve added your blog to my RSS reader. Thanks for including the comment feed—I get annoyed at blogs that have a separate comment feed for each post.

    One comment on the “theme”. This brown-on-brown theme is very low contrast, and hard on old eyes like mine. You might want to look for a black-on-white theme for greater readability (I chose “Rubric” because it was black-on-white, flexible width, and allowed a custom header. There are few wordpress.com themes that meet those specs!)

  9. LizPf
    August 3, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Did I say every day? I guess I did … but that’s not what I meant!

    On my Aspie Parent blog, I shot for 3 posts a week, only one of which is substantial. The other two are short &/or easy to write, reviews of websites or an elaboration of an e-mail from the past. Somehow, I’ve ended up taking the summer off, but I hope to pick things up again Real Soon Now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

