Home > psychology, social-emotional > my dissertation is available!

my dissertation is available!

Okay, so it was already available, for those of you who looked in the ProQuest / UMI database.  But I’m making it easier for people to find, at the same lovely price:  free.  I want it to be read, especially by people who think that doing therapy with gifted clients is just like doing therapy with anyone else and therefore they wouldn’t bother paying for access to something so silly.

However, since many folk have asked if they could pay what they felt was a fair price for the work, and one good friend (you know who you are!) was therapist enough herself to confront me quite pointedly on the topic, I have put it up on my own website with a PayPal donate button.  If it brought value to your life, or if you would like to place a value on what you think it has brought to the world, if you’ve suddenly become heir to a vast fortune you’d like to share with me, or if you’d just like to buy me a cup of coffee, pay what you will, or pay nothing at all and enjoy it without guilt (okay, maybe with a little tiny bit of guilt (grin)).

I’ve also split out the chunk at the end with the provisional clinical guidelines for therapists who work with gifted clients as a separate file, for those who don’t feel like plowing through the whole thing.  I’ll probably post excerpts, or articles based upon chunks of the thing, on this blog.

Whether you’ve read it already but would like to donate, or whether you haven’t yet seen my magnificent octopus (apologies to Blackadder), come on over and take a look!

  1. Kristine
    September 20, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Aimee I followed the link and I couldn’t find the link to your paper.

    • September 20, 2010 at 6:55 pm

      Hm. It worked fine from my husband’s computer. The page has the abstract, the comment about why I posted it this way, the tip jar, the link, and the copyright reminder, in that order.

      • Kristine
        September 20, 2010 at 9:51 pm

        ahhh..I just refreshed the page and it came up with the info.My cache had the old page in it with the interview questionnaire etc.

  2. September 20, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Thanks for posting your PhD thesis. I don’t know whether I’ll ever read it, but I strongly approve of having PhD theses more widely available.

  3. Deb Porter
    September 22, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    I finished reading it this evening. I like your conclusions, among many other things.

    You gave me stained glass Jahari windows, Aimee, just marvelous.

    Thanks for making this available.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

